“Dance for Ukraine,” UK’s Starry Benefit Gala, Now Streaming on Marquee TV

April 15, 2022

Since Russia invaded Ukraine in late February, dancers around the world have been rallying to support the Ukrainian people the best way they know how: through their artform. One of the most high-profile benefit performances occurred in March at the London Coliseum, organized by ballet stars Alina Cojocaru and Ivan Putrov and featuring dancers from The Royal Ballet, English National Ballet and Paris Opéra Ballet, among others. The live event, Dance for Ukraine, drew over 2,000 people in the UK. Now, anyone can stream the star-studded gala on Marquee TV, with all proceeds going towards Disaster Emergency Committee (DEC), Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal.

Cojocaru, who is Romanian, and Putrov, who is Ukrainian, trained together in Kyiv. Both went on to become principal dancers with The Royal Ballet, with Cojocaru later joining ENB. Wanting to show support for their Ukrainian friends and family, the two friends reached out to colleagues and organized Dance for Ukraine in just two weeks. Putrov co-produced the event with dance charity Inspiration in Motion; all of the dancers and musicians involved donated their time, and the English National Opera waived its rental fee at the London Coliseum. The performance was then filmed and edited by BalletBoyz.

Dance for Ukraine is now available on Marquee TV (for both subscribers and nonsubscribers) for $14.99 through April 24. Funds benefit DEC, Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal; one-off donations can also be made via the streaming link.

The film of the gala includes excerpts from classics like Don Quixote and Swan Lake, as well as works by Balanchine, Wayne McGregor and John Neumeier. As for who is performing, check out the exciting international cast below:

Marianela Nuñez (Argentina)

Alison McWhinney (Australia)

Junor Souza and Mayara Magri (Brazil)

Rebecca Bassett-Graham (Canada)

Javier Torres (Cuba)

Mathieu Ganio (France)

Francesco Gabriele Frola and Salvatore de Simone (Italy)

Luca Acri (Japan/Italy)

Fumi Kaneko and Miki Mizutani (Japan)

Alina Cojocaru (Romania)

Natalia Osipova (Russia)

Aitor Arrieta and Fernando Carratalá Coloma (Spain)

William Bracewell and Reece Clarke (UK)

Katja Khaniukova and Marianna Tsembenhoi (Ukraine)

Emma Hawes and Mathias Dingman (USA)